PUTNEY, a suburb of London in the county of Surrey, is situated on the right bank of the Thames, about 8 miles above London Bridge by the river and 4i miles west of Hyde Park Corner by road. The picturesque old timber bridge connecting it with Fulham on the left bank of the river, and erected in 1729, is superseded by a structure of iron and granite. Putney is the headquarters of London rowing and the starting-point for most important boat-races. It consists chiefly of the old-fashioned High Street leading to Putney Common, and various streets of villas and houses inhabited by the middle classes. The church of St Mary near the bridge was rebuilt in 1836, with the exception of the picturesque old tower. Among the benevolent institutions are the almshouses of the Holy Trinity, founded by Sir Abraham Dawes in the reign of Charles II. ; the waterman's school, founded in 1684, for metropolitan area. The population of the registration sub-district (area, 2235 acres) in 1871 was 9439, and in 1881 it was 13,235.
Putney occurs in Domesday as " Putelei," and subsequently appears as "Puttenheth " and "Pottenheth," gradually contracted into "Putney." The ferry was in early times of considerable importance. During the Parliamentary wars the heath was frequently occupied by troops, the headquarters of the generals being in the village. Putney was the birthplace of Thomas Cromwell, earl of Essex, and of Gibbon the historian.