FULHAM, a suburb of London, in the county of Middlesex, is situated on the Thames, 51 miles S.W. of St Paul's, and opposite Putney, with which it is connected by a curious old wooden bridge erected in 1729. In 1642 a bridge of boats was constructed across the river at this point by the earl of Essex, in order to convey his army into Surrey. Fulham has been connected with the see of London from a period long anterior to the conquest. The village is irregularly built, and has a somewhat old-fashioned and antique appearance. It contains an orphanage, a reformatory, and other charitable institutions. In the neighbourhood there are a number of gentlemen's seats, and of old mansions which have been occupied by persons of celebrity. There are extensive nurseries and market gardens in the parish, and in the village there is a large pottery. The parish church, in the Decorated English style, possesses a picturesque tower 95 feet in height. In the church and churchyard there are a number of fine monuments of distinguished persons, including those of tho bishops of London. The Palace has been the summer residence of the bishops of London since the time of Henry VII., with the exception of the period of the Commonwealth when it was sold to Colonel Edmund Harvey. It is a large brick structure of various dates and of small architectural merit. The grounds, which are surrounded by a moat, are 40 acres in extent. They are remarkable for the beauty of their arrangements, and contain many rare plants and shrubs. Fulham is included in the parliamentary borough of Chelsea. The population of the parish in 1871 was 23,350.