FROME, a parliamentary borough and market town of Somersetshire, is situated on the small river Frome, an affluent of the Avon, 11 miles S. of Bath. It was formerly called Frome Selwood, from its situation on the borders of the extensive forest of Selwood. The river is crossed at Frome by a stone bridge of five arches. The town is irregularly built on an acclivity, and the older streets, with the exception of the principal one, are somewhat narrow and irregular. The parish church is an elegant edifice in the later Gothic style, with a tower and a fine octagonal spire 120 feet in height, and the church of St Marys, a fine structure in the First Pointed style, was erected in 1864. The other public buildings of importance are the market-house, and the museum. Among the educational and charitable institutions are the free grammar school, founded in the time of Edward VI., the national school, the asylum for the education and maintenance of 25 poor girls, the blue-coat school, and the almshouses for old men and women. Frome also possesses a literary institute, a mechanics' institute, and a school of art. The inhabitants are chiefly employed in the manufacture of broadcloth and other fine woollens, but there are also foundries, wire-card manufactories, and edge-tool works, and the town has been long noted for its ale. The vicinity is fertile and picturesque, and is ornamented with numerous fine mansions. Frome returns a member to parliament. The population in 1871 was 9753.